top of page

Colour in Vertigo


I was discussing the significance of colour in my work with my peers inc a film student who recommended this video essay in the use if colour in the film vertigo. Hitchcock uses colour to represent specific themes and emotions throughout the film eg. Green to represent the uncanny, the unreal and the dead. This links closely with my manipulation of colour in the footage of Fanny Cradock, green and pink being particularly prevalent. Green is significant because Of Fannys infamous use of green food colourings, and pink a colour she frequently wears in the few colour recordings of her that exist. I intend to further research the historical meaning and implication software the colour pink, but green is more overtly/ closely linked with the ghostly, otherworldly or unsettling.



Comentários


bottom of page