top of page

Cradock Invites (WIP)


This is the first sample of film colourisation I have attempted. The clip above is of the first 1000 frames of the entire video, of which I have hand coloured just over 500. I encountered several problems whilst making this first sample, but now feel confident to continue making and experimenting.


First of all I needed to convert the 20 minute video into frames, about 12000 images in total, which took some time, then import them to photoshop to be made into a frame animation, which crashed several times. I realised I need to colourise the frames in files of 1000 images max for my computer to be able to handle the workload. The process of colouring using an overlay brush in varying degrees of opacity is,.. a long one. In future I will take note to not waste as much effort separately colouring over 400 frames of still establishing shots of the house, which prevented me from having time to start on the more interesting task of colouring people, interiors, and food. When rendering and exporting the animation I also found issues with inconsistent FPS speeds that made syncing the video back up with audio difficult.


I am happy with this result as a starting point to develop. I want to try adding more colour to the establishing shots, and also to have fun with the manipulation of food and character through not just colour, but animation too. Moving or changing colours could be interesting, and the actual shading of Mrs Cradock an especially important question which I may need to refer to my research images for.

Comments


bottom of page