top of page

Hauntology


I have been researching the art movement "hauntology", the recurring "haunting" presence of the past and how it relates to my work. The video above (click image for link), produced by the BBC archive, discusses the "reimagining" and "misremembering" of the past, and a "feeling evoked by disparate cultural artifacts of a certain time"- Much in same way i am exploring a "tone" of the past through the cultural artifacts of an individual: Fanny Cradock. The video also mentions a curiosity for aesthetics that we can imitate, rather than new ones we can create. This idea resonated with me and my way of working, particularly in the context of this project, but also in the past as I have been preoccupied with the replication and distortion of the visual cultures of specific eras eg. Cookery In Colour. Going forward I intend to research hauntology in the context of the art world, and some pieces or artists that i can reference for my FMP.

Comments


bottom of page