top of page

Process Documentation



Documenting the process of colouring individual frames, one shade at a time. I first split the original video into just over 15,000 frames, which I then sorted into chunks of 500 which can be edited as manageable photoshop files. I then used a photoshop script to load the frames of each file into a stack of layers, opened the timeline window and select "create frame animation". I then click "make frames from layers" and begin selecting corresponding frames and layers to draw in colour. I have a collection of colour swatches to use for consistency across files and use a brush in overlay mode to give a colour wash effect.


Whilst doing this "meditative", I also find the mindless, robotic repetition of it is slightly maddening. In keeping with the theme of falseness and concealed labour, I felt the soundtrack of the typical "50s housewife" or "domestic goddess" with which Fanny Cradock associated with herself was appropriate work music. Hence I'm listening to my playlist "manic light music they play in 1950' supermarkets for no reason"

Comments


bottom of page