top of page

Transcribing Audio With Ai


I have been using a free trial of a transcription program to create my own AI-generated scripts of some of Fanny Cradock's only surviving recordings and interviews. I hope eventually to use these transcripts to find specific words and phrases needed to input into another program which will construct a digital reproduction of Fanny Cradocks voice. I could use this resource to further experiment with the concept of reviving or recreating the "lost recordings", or to create some other more abstract sound piece using recovered sound clips. Again, I would rather avoid my work moving into the territory of parody or humour, whilst I want to acknowledge the absurdity of the subject matter i have chosen, creating something just kitch, quaint or funny doesnt appeal to me. Having said that, i need to start identifying what my intention in focusing of Fanny Cradock really is.


Another aspect of experimentation i came across was the introduction segments of Fanny's TV series. The pictures above and below are taken from her series: "Fanny Cradock invites you to a cheese and wine party" which feature a short, simple animation of cut outs and silhouettes of cookery equipment. The flickering light in monochrome and the "modern" 60s style aligns with the aesthetic values of the hauntology movement which i am also researching . These simple frames of animation could also lend well to the slide wheel format which i previously experimented with.


This line of enquiry is more visually appealing to me- especially in terms of producing an outcome with some physicaliy- not necessarily essential, but something I would like to include.


Comments


bottom of page